“A cotutelle is a doctoral program offered by two higher education establishments, which allows the student to obtain a double diploma or a joint PhD degree. The student’s thesis work and research are supervised by two thesis supervisors.”

 The universities of the CREPUQ, Ottawa, York, Moncton, UBC, SFU and UWO are part of this agreement. Other universities are expected to join this framework as well and to offer joint PhD degrees.

 CampusFrance offers services that assist the prospective doctoral candidate, such as assistance with finding a doctoral school or with finding a potential thesis supervisor.